top of page
Search

6 Months Post-Op!


Hey everyone, I'm so glad to be writing again!


These past 6 months of getting used to my metal spine have been so great!


Currently I am on Christmas break and am getting ready to start my 2nd semester of junior college next week!


Today is my half "spineaversary"! I cannot believe that 6 months ago at this very moment, I was sound asleep for what felt like 5 minutes (in reality it was 6 and a half hours)!


So to update on how I'm feeling, I would say that I couldn't be better as far pain and comfort. I can do a cartwheel now, and a handstand! I can run even better than before my surgery believe it or not (I guess it's because my posture is better now!) and I sleep, walk long distance, and even go ice skating comfortably! I have also rode a few small roller coasters! However, I wouldn't recommend going ice skating or riding roller coasters without first getting approval from your doctor.



It's safe to say that the only things that mildly bother me now are a little bit of nerve damage-I have lots of stinging and tingling sensations as my nerves are trying to get their feeling back-as well as being numb still in a few areas. I also have to have constant back support when I'm standing or sitting, otherwise my back starts to hurt. It is also not very pleasant to give my dog a bath since it requires lots of bending over. Other than these few minor things, I feel fantastic! It's great having a straight back and better posture! I am also so proud of this scar!


I don't go back to my surgeon until around 1 year post-op, so not for another 6 months or so! I am not quite sure when it will be safe to try some tumbling again, but hopefully I will get to that point where I'll be able to do some flips comfortably.


Right now for exercise, I can't lie and say I'm doing a lot. Since my surgery, it has been difficult to do anything that requires a lot of energy since I do get out of breath much faster than I used to. Currently I enjoy taking my dog for long walks and when it's warm enough I love to go swimming in my pool. I remember the first time I got to go swimming after surgery I was so excited! (That was at about 3 and a half weeks post-op)!


First time swimming post-op

Since my operation, my life has changed so much. It's as if it was a great divide in my life, kind of like B.C. and A.D. (Before Christ and After Death). So for me it is B.F. and A.F. (Before Fusion and After Fusion). Before my surgery I was in high school, still doing cheerleading and tumbling. Now that my surgery is over I am in college and not able to do any tumbling yet, so it's as if I am in a period of searching. I am still figuring out what to do for a career and what university I want to go to once I graduate from junior college. I've considered a few options, but I'm leaning towards either a job in the fashion industry, or something in the airline industry. I even am leaving the medical field open as an option since being in the hospital really gave me a different outlook on what everyone who works in the hospital does every day.


I love to help anyone who is struggling mentally or emotionally. Believe me when I say

I've been there. So I want to give back and encourage anyone who is facing a battlefield. That is why I created this blog, AND why I created a brand new Instagram page! This page will be dedicated to answering questions, giving advice, and sharing more about my journey. It also will be easier to contact me as my DMs will be wide open for you to message me anytime! I will link account below so you can follow me!


As I celebrate my 6 months-op I want most importantly to remember what carried me through it all. No one can do it alone! I am so grateful to the scoliosis community, my friends, my boyfriend, my family, and my mighty God for carrying me through this wild ride. And a special thank you to everyone for all the support I've received on this blog! I'm so so sooo happy I get to help anyone who is nervous about surgery and battling scoliosis! Your messages mean everything to me and I'm always happy to talk to anyone who needs advice. I'm here for you!


238 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Story

bottom of page